Mine’s a Remington 700 ADL in .30-06.  It’s been in a couple of different configurations.  Some of them really worked well.  Some didn’t.  Right now it’s wearing Warne rings and bases, a Leupold fixed 4 power, and a HS Precision stock.  (I got the stock well before the Lon Hourouchi flap.)  I’m a fan of the stock.  It adds a little more weight than a standard factory synthetic stock, but it’s a bit better balanced.  Most of the time, I shoot Remington’s 165-grain Core-Lokt load.  It will stay right at an inch and quarter maybe a little better.  I’ve also had excellent luck with the Hornady 165-grain SST bullet.  I’m very happy with the way the loads perform, and I’ve never lost an animal with the rifle.  I have the gun sighted in about an inch and a half high at 100 yards.  That gives me the ability to hold pretty well dead on to 300 yards.  The longest shot I’ve made with the rifle was on a decent sized meat doe at about 260 yards.  The doe, hit through both lungs, went about 30 yards and piled up.  I’ve never been able to recover a bullet, of either type, from that rifle.  I suppose it’s not terribly fancy, but it does work for me.  I have other rifles, but none I use more.  Frankly, I don’t even have a rifle I like more.

 

I’m curious if the concept applies to other shooters.  Do you have a go-to rifle, and if so, what is it?

 

